Essex County, NY Postal History

created and maintained by Glenn Estus

The first post office in Essex County was established on September 14, 1797 when Essex County was still a part of Clinton County. In the last two hundred plus years, the following post offices have existed. Post Offices still in operation are CAPITALIZED.

Pictures of Essex County Post Offices

Essex County Special Cancellations (1976-present day)

Essex County Special Cancellations by Town Listing (1976-Present day)

Addison Junction, Adirondac, Aiden Lair ,AUSABLE FORKS, Ausable, Ausable Chasm

Beede, Beedes, BLOOMINGDALE, Blue Ridge, Bo(u)quet, Boquet Mills, Boreas River, Brookfield,

Cascade, Cascadeville, Cheever, Chesterfield, Chilson, Chilson Lake, Crater Club, CROWN POINT, Crown Point Centre,

Dead Water Iron Works, Deerhead, Douglass, Douws,

Eagle Cliff, Eagle Lake, East Moriah, Elizabeth Court House, ELIZABETHTOWN, ESSEX, Essex Court House, Euba Dam, Euba Mills,

Flagg, Fort Ticonderoga,

Glen Valley,

Hammondville, Haselton, Highland, Hulls Falls, Hurricane,



Keene Flats, Keene Valley, KEESEVILLE,

LAKE PLACID, Lake Placid Club, Langmann, LEWIS, Loch Muller,


NEW RUSSIA, NEWCOMB, Newman, North Elba, NORTH HUDSON, North Pole (rural station of Lake Placid), NORTH POLE (rural station of Wilmington)


PARADOX (rural station of Ticonderoga), Paradox Lake, Pineville, Pondsville, PORT HENRY, Port Kendall, PORT KENT, Putsville, Pyramid,

RAYBROOK, Reber, Rogers Rock,

Saint Armand, Saint Hubert, SCHROON LAKE, Schroon River, SEVERANCE, Skaroon Lake, South Schroon, Split Rock, Stevenson, Streetroad,

Tahawas, Tahawus, TICONDEROGA, Trudeau,

Undercliff, Underwood, UPPER JAY,

Wadhams, Wadhams Mills, Wells Corners, Wessex, West Essex, West Moriah, WESTPORT, Whallonsburg(h), Whiteface, Whiteface Mountain, WILLSBORO(UGH), Willsboro(ugh) Point, WILMINGTON, WITHERBEE, Woodwardsville

return to home page

This page was modified on April 22, 2019